Tags

, , , , , , ,

I know it’s been a while since I did a post on TV but…I wanted to fill you in on what I’m watching.

After a fairly dismal season 4 True Blood is back and it’s the strongest the series has been in a while, I hope it continues in this vein. Falling Skies has returned for season two; I find it hamstrung by awkward writing and poor acting a lot of the time, with a heavy over-reliance on action scenes. I can’t see myself watching any more of this season despite the fact that I love the genre.

Suits is back and the first outing of season two was better than the entire of season one combined, this show relies on an annoyingly MOTW format but this year they seem to have a good arc in place which should prove interesting. Magic City ended it’s eight episode run and was a stand out for me, Starz is doing great shows I really like their approach right now.

Mad Men…. 13 episodes where absolutely nothing happened. I still like some of the characters & the acting so I watched it but the show clearly suffered from the overly long break & the writers would want to pull up their socks for the next two seasons as opposed to going all Mulholland Drive on the scripts.

The Borgias had it’s season 2 finale Sunday night & it just doesn’t get better – excellent show.  Dallas 2012, I had really high hopes for this show & they were exceeded, JR has still got it. I loved the original version and the new series doesn’t disappoint, fans of Revenge will love this show I think & it’s very fresh, 19 minutes into the pilot I loved it. I’m looking forward to the return of Damages and Weeds.

In the recent slew of cancellations in May; Ringer, The Secret Circle & GCB got the axe, Ringer should have had a shorter episode order as they were stretching a good story too thin but all the same; a pity to see it go, The Secret Circle was great, a real fave & I’m hoping that the rumours are true and another network will pick it up, the fact that the CW renewed the long ailing Gossip Girl & 90210 in favour of them is ridiculous. GCB had potential but they really miscast the lead role & its demise is really not a surprise to me at all.

On the reality TV front; the Kardashians and The Real Housewives of NYC have fallen off the roster. Pretty Little Liars I’ve also stopped bothering with, it’s beyond stupid at this stage.

