Tags

, , , , , ,

Gel liner until recently was the child of high end brands only; then all at once it would seem gel liners were being launched by Sleek, N0 7, Maybelline, Essence and Catrice. Today I saw the Catrice offering and I couldn’t resist. The liner I chose was the brown one for €4.79 and I picked up the little brush for €2.99 as well.

As soon as I got home I ripped open the package to try it, as a long time devotee of Bobbi Brown gel liner the first thing that surprised me was the loose consistency of this, very wet, almost runny. I applied it and it dried in, in a few seconds. It transfers but….so does Bobbi Brown on me sometimes and I have been known to have a greasy eye lid but honestly…I like it. The color is a very dark brown almost black but even though you need to go over the line when it dries to ensure you’ve got equal pigment I still quite like it.

The angled brush end is totally useless, the bristles are far too soft. The bent side a la Benefit is easy to use and delivered nice results. Tomorrow I’m going to try it for a full day with my never defeated Smashbox lid primer and one of my own brushes. Today I had UD Primer Potion in Sin on my lids when I put it on and that always creases on me so I didn’t give it the best opportunity.  The packaging is nice – a heavy glass jar and the lid appears to close tightly which is excellent and if it dries out quickly it’s not really a big deal since it cost €4.79! You also get 4grams of product compared to only 3grams of Bobbi Brown. Overall this German brand Catrice has some raved about products and I’m thinking I’ll pick up a few more tomorrow – the concealer pan has been raved about by the ladies at Beaut.ie and the blushes are a Dior look a like if I ever saw any.

